Up Close & Personal With A.D. Ellis

A.D. Ellis

Ever wonder about how your favorite author got his or her start? Maybe you want to know some of their favorite things? Well, today is the first in a new feature on my blog—Author Up Close & Personal segments.

This Week’s Author…

Meet A.D. Ellis!

71q-drwpbul-_ux250_

A.D. Ellis is an Indiana girl, born and raised. She spends much of her time in central Indiana teaching alternative education in the inner city of Indianapolis, being a mom to two amazing school-aged children, and laughing at two precocious cats. A lot of her time is also devoted to phone call avoidance and her hatred of cooking.

She loves chocolate, wine, pizza, and naps along with reading and writing romance. These loves don’t leave much time for housework, much to the chagrin of her husband of nearly two decades. Who would pick cleaning the house over a nap or a good book? She uses any extra time to increase her fluency in sarcasm.

FREE books– sign up at bit.ly/ADEllisNews for a FREE male/female romance.
Sign up at http://www.subscribepage.com/ADEllisNewsMMRomance for a FREE male/male romance book.

Her website: http://www.adellisauthor.com/


Not every author started out as a writer. A.D., did you always want to be a writer? Not at all. I have always been a reader. Writing always seemed too tedious. I never liked writing assignments given in school. Hated writing to a prompt. Hated being told what to write in creative writing. But, once I started writing my own stories, the kind I’d want to read, I fell in love with it.

Writers have such vivid imaginations. What is the strangest thing you’ve written about? I don’t know that I write about strange topics or subjects. In one of my books there’s a character who has some mental limitations and he was having a hard time grasping the concept of gay sex. That was a funny little scene to write, but nothing too strange in my books.

51s6zqzdpal

How about the hardest story for you to write? Probably Loving Josie on an emotional level because it was very close to home for me. Sawyer was my first MM romance to write and that was hard because it was out of my knowledge base.

51h4psmoual-_sy346_

What are you working on right now? A new series titled The Blueridge Junction Boys (The BJ Boys.) It will have 3 books all releasing (hopefully) in October and November.

Readers love a sneak peek into how writers create. Can you tell us what motivated the plot of one of your books? Real life motivates me. My most recently published series, Something About Him, contains six books that all have some very real-life characters and situations.

51c-osmxzgl-_sx260_

Who has been your favorite character to write about? 15 books published, 16 and 17 on the way….you can’t ask me to pick a favorite character! I love them all in their own ways. I love the characters who have pieces of my personality. I love the characters who are basically my best friends written into fiction form. If I were to have to pick some of the ones that stick out as the most fun to write I’d say Nicky, Kendrick, Braeton, and from my current WIP, Jay.

Do any of your characters reflect your own personality? Yes! The more sarcastic the character the more likely they are to reflect bits of me.

Let’s talk nuts and bolts for a minute.

Do you plan your novels? If so, how? I get an idea, let it brew for a while, then start making notes. After that, I start writing and see where things go. I’m sort of a planning panster. Or maybe a panster who needs a plan?

You’re a romance author. Have you ever entertained writing in another genre? I think fantasy or science fiction would be fun because you can do a lot of world creation and make up your own rules. But, I don’t read that genre, so I’m not sure I’d be great at it.

Some authors believe writer’s block is a thing. Others don’t. Where do you stand? Every day [I suffer from] it seems. No, maybe not that often, but I definitely go through periods of time where the words just aren’t coming. I take the break. If the words aren’t there, I can’t force them. I read, I go for walks, I take naps, I do other things. When the words are ready, I write them.

Readers love to identify with their favorite authors. Can you tell us a few of your favorite things?

Authors: So many! From the time I was young, I’ve been reading. Ann M. Martin, Beverly Cleary, Lois Lowry. And now I have a whole community of author friends and support. I lean heavily on my local writing peeps, Aleatha Romig, TC Winters, Anya Breton, Jillian Jacobs for advice and support. I have a large group of MM romance author friends who have proven to be invaluable in my writing.

Novels: Do you reread any? Honestly, I don’t read books multiple times. At least not usually. I’m rereading The Giver right now because my daughter is reading it in class. I read kids’ books over and over because I’m a teacher and read them each year to new classes.

Quote: A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies.Sunset chaser

Animal: I love horses, dolphins, monkeys, elephants when we visit the zoo. But, as far as animals for pets, my two cats are my favorite. Gizmo and Smoke are my best boys.

Color: Purple. Always purple. Followed closely by blue.

And that concludes this week’s Up Close & Personal. Thanks A.D.!

Be sure to find A.D. on social media at:

Facebook     Twitter     Amazon

If you are a romance author who would like to be featured on the blog, send me a message via Facebook   

Leave a Reply

