MYSTERY MONDAY: Book Review

mystery-monday

Welcome to Mystery Monday…

Just what is Mystery Monday? It’s whatever might be in my bag of tricks for the day. Could be a book recommendation or a review. Might be an excerpt from a story or even a piece of prose. One never knows what I might target.

Let’s roll the dice and see what shakes out…

dice-1265633_640

Book Review

51gny-zc-pl-_sy346_

 

I wasn’t looking for Derek Wolfe.

I wasn’t looking for anybody. All I wanted was to start a new life in America. But when I found myself stranded here with no place to go, he came to my rescue, offering me a place to stay.

He’s smart, successful, and sexy as hell—I can barely sleep knowing he’s right down the hall. And when the chemistry between us explodes one night with fierce, fiery passion, it’s hard to deny there’s something real there.

But he does.

He says he was drunk. He says it was a one-time thing. He says he’s not into guys and what we did meant nothing.

He’s lying. Because it happened again, and again, and again. And it’s better every time. 

I know we could be good together, and I want the chance to try, but I’m done hiding. If he’s not strong enough to admit the truth, I’ll have to be strong enough to walk away.

nadirah-reviews

The Review

If I could have given Strong Enough by Melanie Harlow and David Romanov more stars, I would have. I laughed and even choked on some scenes, but in the end, I loved the story and the characters.

Derek and Maxim were honest individuals and polar opposites—one man trying to hide from himself while the other was tired of hiding. I loved how Harlow and Romanov brought these men to life. Unfortunately, there are plenty of real men in similar situations but the authors crafted a heartfelt, moving story and not just reported facts. You won’t find any judgment on the pages of Strong Enough.

In its most basic form, Strong Enough is a pure and simple love story. It’s also a book about self-acceptance. If you can’t accept your own self, flaws and beliefs included, how can you expect someone else to accept those things and love you for them? It’s the old adage about loving yourself before others can love you.

This is definitely a book worth reading! I look forward to reading more well-written tales by this team.

My Rating: lipstick-160269_640lipstick-160269_640lipstick-160269_640lipstick-160269_640lipstick-160269_640

Buy Link:

https://www.amazon.com/Strong-Enough-Melanie-Harlow-ebook/dp/B072JZCSZV


About the Authors

71u0k1fmudl-_ux250_Melanie Harlow likes her martinis dry, her heels high, and her history with the naughty bits left in. When she’s not writing or reading, she gets her kicks from TV series like VEEP, Game of Thrones, House of Cards, and Homeland. She occasionally runs three miles, but only so she can have more gin and steak.

Melanie is the author of AFTER WE FALL, MAN CANDY, the HAPPY CRAZY LOVE series, the FRENCHED series, and the sexy historical SPEAK EASY duet, set in the 1920s. She lifts her glass to romance readers and writers from her home near Detroit, MI, where she lives with her husband, two daughters, and pet rabbit.

She is represented by Rebecca Friedman of Friedman Literary.

 

81yxtxv3wwl-_ux250_

For David Romanov, STRONG ENOUGH is to a great extent autobiographical. Born in Russia and raised in Europe, he landed in the United States at the age of 24, where he learned a lot about cultural differences between East and West. David firmly believes in ‘The One’ and learning through love. When he isn’t traveling or educating Melanie in Russian culture, he enjoys books and the company of his husband and dog in Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

