Frisky Friday Flash Fiction

frisky-friday

Happy Friday! It’s time for another installment in Frisky Friday Flash Fiction. You know the drill. I provide a picture and the first lines of a 300 word story. I’ll post the remainder next week.

Let’s look back at the previous story.

Can't Hide

“Baby’s Daddy”

I’ve been searching all over this damned forest for him. He might think he’s gotten away, but I’ve got news for him. Everyone pays for their crimes even him. The Nexxus has paid well for Foster’s ass, but no one wants him dead as much as I do. You can’t just fuck someone and walk away.

A twig snaps behind me. I pivot on my heel. Both of my guns go up. I’m ready to take out whatever or whoever it might be.

“Shayla, would you really kill me?”

His tall, sculpted physique steps from behind the tree. The sunlight glints off his golden hair and his green eyes, like fresh-cut grass on a spring day, sparkle.

I aim for his head not saying a word.

“Baby, have you forgotten what you mean to me?”

“Don’t baby me, jackass. You left me behind.”

Foster inches forward. “Come on. Jackson wouldn’t have killed you. He knows what would have happened to him.”

The click of my weapon stops Foster in his tracks. “It doesn’t matter. I’ve changed teams. Jackson wants you dead.”

Foster’s eyebrow raises. “You work for Nexxus now? Never figured you as a traitor.”

“And I never figured you as a cowardly prick.”

“I’m none of those things.” He lifts his hands and approaches me. “Let me make it up to you.”

“No.”

“There’s a cabin behind me. I’d give anything to peel that leather off your gorgeous ass. I’ll make sweet love to you for the next hour and then we’ll talk about exterminating Jackson.”

“N-no.” I won’t weaken. Sweat curves down my spine.

Foster doesn’t stop moving until he’s in front of me. He places a hand on the gun’s muzzle and lowers it. “Shayla, I had to leave you behind.”

“Why?”

“The Nexxus threatened my daughter.”


And now for this week’s story:

He's Coming

The one we fear is coming. The only one who takes all that we hold precious and leaves us empty is out there.

Leave a Reply

