Frisky Friday Flash Fiction

frisky-friday

Happy Friday! It’s time for another installment in Frisky Friday Flash Fiction. You know the drill. I provide a picture and the first lines of a story (300 words maximum). You get the opportunity to provide the rest. I’ll post the full story the following week.

Let’s look back at last week’s story:

I Always Get

“Until Her”

I’m a man of lucrative means. Whatever I want, I get. Money. Cars. Women. I have wanted for nothing in life until the day I met her. The one woman I couldn’t have.

It’s not like I didn’t try. We met at a bar. She was a vision coming through the door.

“Can I buy you a drink?” I asked.

“Only if you buy me one, too.”

The voice belonged to Derrick. “Connie, meet my brother Kristof.”

I tried my hardest to stay away from Connie, but Derrick made that difficult. When he’d leave on company business, he’d ask me to watch over her. The mother of all bombs hit during his last trip.

Connie stayed at our father’s house. I had one drink too many, and stumbled upstairs to my old room. I opened the door, kicked off my shoes, and loosened my tie. My eyes shut for only a minute when I felt the mattress dip. I pushed past the stupor and rolled to my side. It was dark, but her heady perfume reached out to me.

“Connie?”

“Kristof? What are you doing here?”

“I could say the same about you,” she whispered.

“Lady, you’re in my bed in my room.” Common sense rained down on me. “I’ll leave.”

Her hand brushed my chest. “Stay.”

“Are you—?”

Connie’s full lips crashed mine. She pressed her curvy body against mine…

It’s a night I’ve never forgotten. The next day we behaved as if nothing happened between us. Whenever Derrick left town, Connie came to me. It was a forbidden relationship.

I check my watch. Connie’s late. The weather’s bad, but she declined my offer to send a car for her.

The door opens and closes behind me.

“It’s about time, babe.”

“I agree with you, brother.”


And now for this week’s story:

splintered

Everyone has an alternate ego. A person you’d like to be if you were brave enough, strong enough. I never imagined mine would be pure darkness. An evil so depraved and twisted that I was afraid to be alone with myself.

Leave a Reply

