Mystery Monday

mystery-monday

Welcome to Mystery Monday…

Just what is Mystery Monday? It’s whatever might be in my bag of tricks for the day. Could be a book recommendation or a review. Might be an excerpt from a story or even a piece of prose. One never knows what I might target.

Let’s roll the dice and see what shakes out…

dice-1265633_640

Story Continuation

You might recall the Flash Fiction piece “Lust and Larceny”. If not, you can read it here. I got to thinking about the story and wanted to add to it. So here’s the next scene:

car-2115075_1920

 

“Lust & Larceny” (Next Scene)

Minutes later, I’m sitting across from my mark in the back of a limo. The hem of my torn dress lies on the floor, limp, like my ego.

I narrow my eyes and study the man in front of me. He’s panty-dropping hot. If I weren’t so embarrassed, I’d be in his lap.

No.

I push my lust aside. I need info.

“Tell me how,” I say.

His lips curl up and he extends his hand. “How about a proper introduction? I’m Drake Theopoulos.”

“Drake? That doesn’t sound very Greek.”

“Short for Drakon. It’s my father’s name.”

Right. I forgot about the senior Theopoulos. Drake is heir to a vast family fortune. So the thievery makes no sense. Why would a man worth millions resort to stealing?

“You know about my family?”

“Who doesn’t? Your father is a shipping magnate.”

“And he has no tolerance for those who don’t share his opinions. My father cut me loose years ago. You might say I’m simply funding my lifestyle.”

Is he serious? This isn’t some friendly meet and greet. His relationship with his father is not my concern. I have a job to do, and he’s making it damned difficult. I cross my arms beneath my boobs. “I’m waiting.”

“You didn’t ask a question.” He rakes a hand through his well-coiffed dark hair. “Fine. I have my resources. I’d tell you, but then I will have to kill you. A man like me isn’t successful without connections. Mine let me know the Agency was on to me a long time ago.”

“Not possible.”

“Yes, it is.” He adjusts his position on the leather seat. “Do you think you’re the first agent—”

“I’m not an agent,” I correct.

He tilts his head toward me and gives a curt nod. “My apologies. You are the first assassin who has been sent my way. The Agency has tried different agents—black, white, Asian, Latina. They even sent a man once thinking that would do the trick.”

My curiosity peaks. “Did it?”

“Let’s just say it was an interesting night for the both of us.”

“So where does this leave us?”

“I have a proposition for you. Care to hear it?”

I nod.

Drake presses a button and the privacy partition lowers.

“Take me home, Geoffrey.”

After the partition is back in place, I say, “Presumptuous, aren’t you?”

“No more than you are.”

Touche.

Leave a Reply

