Mystery Monday: Story Excerpt from “The Darker Side of Love”

mystery-monday

Welcome to Mystery Monday…

Just what is Mystery Monday? It’s whatever might be in my bag of tricks for the day. Could be a book recommendation or a review. Might be an excerpt from a story or even a piece of prose. One never knows what I might target.

Let’s roll the dice and see what shakes out…

dice-1265633_640

Story Excerpt from “The Darker Side of Love”

I watch the police car roll out of the driveway. Once it’s gone, I look around the room. No one would understand the horrors Zack put me through. Everything looks so innocent, just like him.

I start to walk out when I notice the box on the coffee table next to a laptop. Inside the small box is a jump drive. I take it and load it into the computer.

Blurred images cross the screen. The image sharpens and I see myself restrained on a surface. Zack rips the front of my dress with a knife. He drops it and wraps a hand around my neck. His mouth is inches away from my lips.

I stop the video.

Zack’s face is frozen on the screen. The emotion in his eyes scares me. The games he played… The things he did…none of that screamed love, but it’s evident in his brown eyes.

Love isn’t necessarily patient. It can be cruel. It’s envious, boastful, and sometimes proud.

It can dishonor others, it can be selfish. It’s easily angered. It keeps a detailed record when it’s wronged.

Love can delight in evil. The truth is love can be dark and forbidden.

You can’t depend on it to protect you. You shouldn’t place your trust or your hope in it. But it does persevere. It always perseveres.

Leave a Reply

